This is the "Introduction" page of the "Researching the history of a building" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to use resources from Moonee Valley Libraries to research the history of a building in the Moonee Valley area. Find out when the building was constructed, who occupied the building, about the architectural style, and where to look for pictures.
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://mvcc.vic.libguides.com/buildings Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Where to begin and general tips

This is Moonee Valley Libraries' guide to researching the history of buildings in the Moonee Valley area.

It lists key resources which you can use to discover more about the age, architecture, past uses and occupants of buildings, as well as advice on where to look for pictures.

Most of the resources mentioned can be found at Sam Merrifield Library in Moonee Ponds.

How to start your research

  1. Begin by checking a copy of the title (if you have access to it). This will tell you the names of previous owners of the property. If you own the property you are researching you can obtain a copy of the land title deed from the DSE. You'll need to know the lot, deed or portfolio number.
  2. Check the clippings in Moonee Valley Libraries' Local History vertical file, (filed under "Historic Buildings", then by suburb, and in some cases then by name of the house). We may have saved an article about your place.
  3. Look through the list below of suggested books. If your place might be included, check there next.
  4. Check the advice on the other pages of this guide.
Federation times in Essendon and Flemington : a pictorial record - edited by Lenore Frost
Black and white photographs of buildings, businesses, streetscapes, events and people in and around Essendon and Flemington from the 1890s to 1910s. Brief background information also provided for each image.

Essendon Conservation Study - Graeme Butler & Associates
Gives a brief history of Essendon, then lists the most architecturally important buildings in the area, such as the Burley Griffin Incinerator, Laluma and Mar Lodge. Then lists less significant buildings from the area, providing basic information such as estimated date of construction.

The fine homes of Essendon and Flemington 1846 - 1880
Historical information and black and white pictures of some of the grandest historic houses in the Essendon and Flemington areas, including some buildings which had previously been demolished. Photographs include both recent and historic images. In some cases images of interiors, gardens or past occupants are included.

The grand mansions of Essendon and district 1880-1892 - Essendon Historical Society
Historical information, and in some cases illustrations, of some of the grandest mansions of the area. Provides details about the homes and their previous occupants.

Flemington and Kensington conservation study - Graeme Butler & Associates
This is a collection of “building identification sheets” which list houses by street, and identify them by levels of importance, and lists notable features, alterations and recommendations.

House names of Essendon and district - Samuel Merrifield
Origins of the names of houses in the Essendon area. Two volumes, the first compiled by Samuel Merrifield and edited by Lenore Frost, the second by Bob Chalmers.


City of Moonee Valley index of heritage sites - City of Moonee Valley
Publication Date: 1998
Describes and provides the history of over 100 heritage homes and buildings in the Moonee Valley area.

Local character study - Corporate and Strategic Planning Unit, Moonee Valley City Council
Describes the typical house styles and character of various Moonee Valley neighbourhoods. Provides advice on how the local character of each precinct can best be preserved. Includes: Airport West, East Keilor and Avondale Heights, Niddrie, North Essendon and Strathmore, Essendon, Moonee Ponds, Ascot Vale and Flemington/Kensington.

 

Using this guide

Please note the information here is for educational purposes only. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Australia License.

 

Image from our collection

 

Search Library Catalogue

If your building has a name, take a moment to search for it in our catalogue. You never know if it might be mentioned in an article we've indexed or a book we hold...

 

For more help, try these books

If you want more detailed advice on researching your home, refer to one these books from our collection:

The National Trust research manual : trace the history of your house or other places - edited by Celestina Sagazio
The ultimate, comprehensive guide to researching Australian buildings. Covers pretty much everything from researching the building to the past occupants, and the garden.

How to trace the history of your house - Des Regan and Kate Press
Publication Date: 1990
A 10 week teach-yourself course.

 

Tell us what you think

Help us to improve our guides by giving us feedback.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip